Top Three Books of 2015!

As 2015 has now officially, ended, it’s time to talk about the best books of my reading year! I read just over 29 books, and whittling it down to three is really, really hard. If you’ve read some of my reviews (and if you haven’t, you really should) it’s been a wonderful year for me. Lots of fun and exciting books. A great way to get back into reading! (2015 was the first year in many that I actually sat down to read some ‘fun’ books).

First, a little business. The next two months will have reviews from 2015 books because I’m just that far behind. I hope to be able to move the reviews up, but right now I want to be sure I have consistent content for all of you. (That one month break in November was slightly embarrassing…) What that means is, you’ll have a new review every Monday (yay!), but that also means one of my favorite books of the year hasn’t gotten it’s review published. 😦 Please bear with me as I try and figure out this blogging thing… there’s quite the learning curve!

Without further ado, my favorites! (In no particular order, because I can’t pick between these wonderful books!)

Lost-Stars-CoverSTAR WARS: LOST STARS by Claudia Grey

My review for this book will be coming out in February (I’m a bit behind right now… oops.). But you might have noticed that I’ve been having some problems finding good Star Wars books within the new cannon… Aftermath didn’t do it for me, and I pretty much lost all hope. Lost Stars really turned it around for me. With amazingly sweet characters, and such a unique perspective on the Star Wars universe. It’s YA, and wasn’t very well publicized, but it’s amazing. Go read it!

 

Red QueenRED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard

To say that Red Queen’s sequel, Glass Sword is my most anticipated sequel next year, would be an understatement. I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL FEBRUARY!

Ahem… anyway, I loved the fantasy, the suspense and the world building within this book. The characters just grabbed me and yanked me into the story with them. This is one of the only books that has ever kept me up at night wanting more…

 

 

 

Rites of PassageRITES OF PASSAGE by Joy N. Hensley

This was one of the first books I read in 2015 (and coincidentally, the first I also read on Overdrive) and I loved it so much!

I got almost all the inside jokes about military life, and the story itself was so heartwarming. (I’ll never look at pumpkin pie again the same way.) This was an edge of my seat adventure, that stuck with me all year.

 

So what were your favorite books of 2015? Got any recommendations of what you’d like to see reviewed in 2016? Leave a comment below! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Top Three Books of 2015!

  1. I’ve had Red Queen on my shelf for a while though and just never got around to picking it up! Hopefully this year though! I’m really glad to see you enjoyed Lost Worlds! I actually had no idea it was already out 😛 Also I’ve been wanting to get into reading the Star Wars canon books and was wondering where to start. Any recommendations?

    Like

    1. Lost Stars is totally the best to get into the new Cannon… I wasn’t terribly impressed by Aftermath, but the middle grade books Weapon of the Jedi, Moving Target and Smuggler’s Run were fast reads, but really cool.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

