Throne of Glass – Pure Awesomeness

I have a slight confession. I read all four Throne of Glass books in three days, and I regret none of it. ūüôā WARNING: There are a few ‘spoilers’ sprinkled throughout this review. They aren’t glaring spoilers about who lives/dies/loves/falls/etc. They’re very vague comments that would probably be guessed by those familiar with the basics of a YA novel (love triangles, plot points, etc.)

Throne of GlassThrone of Glass follows Celaena Sardonith as she is selected by Prince Dorian to serve as the King’s Champion. Celaena (formerly known as a lot of things, including Adarlan’s Greatest Assassin) reluctantly agrees to enter a competition to win the position from a King she hates. This is the start of the first book.

There are so many funny and sweet moments sprinkled throughout this book. Just the right amount of action as we discover secrets about the Kingdom, and throughout the series, secrets about Celaena’s identity. (SPOILER: She has a great destiny.) Be warned, there is some graphic violence as the assassin… er, assassinates? There’s blood and gore throughout the series, and obviously, several murders/deaths. It was a little startling at first since I’ve never really read something with lots of blood, but it wasn’t too bad.

The supporting characters are amazing. Let’s talk about the guys first:

Prince Dorian and Captain Choal Westfall (I thought it was pronounced Cole, but turns out it’s Kale?) have been friends for a long time, and have some great backstory. I don’t agree with the results of the would-be love-triangle until about book three, when we add at least one, possibly two and make it a love square or pentagon. Both are not only great individuals, but their personalities work really well together.

Nehemia is a visiting Princess who soon discovers some of Celaena’s many secrets. I wish she had more time within the series (SPOILER: She is not in the third or fourth for reasons made clear in book two) because she is such a good friend to Celaena. #BBFGoals

The plot spins itself into more than just a simple competition, leaving all the characters completely different, and the world changed forever (I’m not even kidding), spanning across all corners of their world, and stumbling upon some of the most amazing and coolest stuff ever.

Just go read it. You’ll love it!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR – Sarah J. Maas is the author of the¬†New York Times,¬†USA Today,¬†and internationally¬†bestselling Throne of Glass series‚ÄďThrone of Glass, Crown of Midnight,¬†Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows,¬†and the series‚Äô prequel,¬†The Assassin‚Äôs Blade‚Äďas well as the¬†New York Times¬†and¬†USA Today¬†bestselling¬†A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages.¬†A Court of Mist and Fury, the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, will release on May 3rd, 2016.

A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s