Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

I was so ridiculously excited to read this book! Red Queen was amazing, though I may have set my expectations a little high for it’s sequel.

Glass Sword.jpgNOTE: This review will probably contain spoilers from Red Queen. If you have not read the first book in this series, you should consider reading Red Queen first, then reading my review of Glass Sword.

The book starts exactly where Red Queen ended, and includes a fast paced escape/chase. Maybe it was because I hadn’t had a chance to reread Red Queen before I picked up Glass Sword, but it seemed slow and somewhat lagging for the first quarter. I enjoyed it, but ultimately that first quarter/third seemed like a lot of exposition on basic information and generally reminding me that everything in this world is going wrong.

Mare was probably my least favorite character in this book, which is surprising because I liked her in Red Queen. She was so… wishy-washy. She was strong, but she wasn’t. She was weak, but she wasn’t. She’d come up with a plan, but she’d just be swept along by whatever everyone else was doing. She was a walking, talking contradiction and I just couldn’t bring myself to care very much.

I’m not sure what was going on with Cal and Mare. They would be going for a few paragraphs towards strengthening their relationship, or even just being friends and then BOOM they hate each other and aren’t speaking to each other. It was also frustrating that they didn’t care what anyone else thought of their relationship, but didn’t bother to argue when people made major (though from their prospective, logical) assumptions about them.

The last quarter when they finally break into the prison and release everyone was by far the best part of the book. I flew through it and it felt like an entirely different book. That was what I thought all of Glass Sword would be, but alas, it seems to suffer from the sagging middle. Though can we just take a moment to appreciate the ending scene? Talk about leaving it on a cliff hanger.

Overall, not nearly as good as Red Queen, but still a worthwhile read. I’m looking forward to the sequel, which is supposed to come up next year. I’ll still give it three stars because it’s still a great sequel, but I’m just not feeling these character arcs.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Victoria Aveyard – I’m a writer repped by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media, Inc. I split my time between my hometown East Longmeadow, Massachusetts and Los Angeles. After graduating with a BFA in Screenwriting from the University of Southern California, I decided to try my hand at writing a novel. My debut RED QUEEN came out of the terrifying, unemployed year after college.

Leave a Reply

